H.M. Queen

Elizabeth II

born 1926

accession 1952


Prince Charles, 

born 1948

Prince of Wales


Prince Andrew,

born 1960

Duke of York


Prince Edward, 

born 1964

Earl of Wessex


Princess Anne

born 1950

Princess Royal

Prince William, Duke of Cambridge

born 1982

Prince Henry, Duke of Sussex
born 1984


Princess Beatrice of York
born 1988


Princess Eugenie of York
born 1990

Lacy Louise WIndsor

born 2003

James, Viscount Severn


Peter Phillips

born 1977

Zara Tindall
(née Phillips)

born 1981

Prince George of Cambridge

born 2013

Archie Harrison Muntbatten-Windsor

born 2019

August  Brooksbank

born 2021

Savannah Phillips

born 2010

Mia Tindall

born 2014


Princess Charlotte of Cambridge

born 2015

born 2021


Isla Phillips

born 2012

Lena Tindall

born 2018

Prince Louis of Cambridge

born 2019

Lucas Tindall
born 2021

Succession to the British throne is determined by descent, sex (for people born before October 2011), legitimacy, and religion. Under common law, the Crown is inherited by a sovereign's children or by a childless sovereign's nearest collateral line. The Bill of Rights 1689 and the Act of Settlement 1701 restrict succession to the throne to the legitimate Protestant descendants of Sophia of Hanover that are in "communion with the Church of England".[1] Spouses of Roman Catholics were disqualified from 1689 until the law was amended in 2015. Protestant descendants of those excluded for being Roman Catholics are eligible.[2]

Queen Elizabeth II is the sovereign, and her heir apparent is her eldest son, Charles, Prince of Wales. Next in line after him is Prince William, Duke of Cambridge, the Prince of Wales's elder son. Third in line is Prince George, the eldest child of the Duke of Cambridge, followed by his sister, Princess Charlotte and younger brother, Prince Louis. Sixth in line is Prince Harry, Duke of Sussex, the younger son of the Prince of Wales. Any of the first six in line marrying without the sovereign's consent would be disqualified from succession.

The first four individuals in the line of succession who are over 21, and the sovereign's consort, may be appointed Counsellors of State. Counsellors of State perform some of the sovereign's duties in the United Kingdom while he or she is out of the country or temporarily incapacitated. Otherwise, individuals in the line of succession need not have specific legal or official roles.

The United Kingdom is one of the 16 Commonwealth realms. Each of those countries has the same person as monarch and the same order of succession. In 2011, the prime ministers of the realms agreed unanimously to adopt a common approach to amending the rules on the succession to their respective Crowns so that absolute primogeniture would apply for persons born after the date of the agreement, instead of male-preference primogeniture, and the ban on marriages to Roman Catholics would be lifted, but the monarch would still need to be in communion with the Church of England. After the necessary legislation had been enacted in accordance with each realm's constitution, the changes took effect on 26 March 2015

United Kingdom

The Queen´s closest family & the line of succession